## MSU FACULTY EMERITI ASSOCIATION STEERING COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES Wednesday, May 11, 2016 Room 110 Kellogg Center

## ANNUAL MEETING

Chairperson Rainey called the annual meeting to order at 1:09 pm.

Members attending: Pauline Adams, Jenny Bond, Bill Cambray, Joseph Chartkoff, John Forsyth, Charles Gliozzo, Bruce Miller, James Rainey, Gary Stone, and Jim Trosko, and Cindi Leverich of the Office of Faculty Organization and Development. Not attending: Alan Fisher, Rita Gallin, Mary Kennedy, David Rovner, and Albert Sparrow. Visitor: Cindi Leverich of the Office of Faculty Organization and Development.

Chairperson Rainey noted that the purpose of the annual meeting is to nominate and elect members of the Steering Committee for new three-year terms. All emeriti faculty are invited to the annual meeting and an email notice to that effect had been communicated to the Steering Committee's email list.

Adams moved and Trosko seconded approving the minutes of the Annual Meeting held May 14, 2014. The motion passed unanimously.

An ad hoc committee consisting of Forsyth, Gliozzo, Rainey and Stone proposed changes to the bylaws. The changes simplify the selection of new members – partly by eliminating the 30-day mailing notice, collect the roles of the Nominating Committee in one place, and make two stylistic changes. Stone moved adopting these changes into the bylaws, and Cambray seconded. The motion passed unanimously. The new version will be posted on the FEA web site, <a href="http://www.facultyemeriti.msu.edu">http://www.facultyemeriti.msu.edu</a>, and the old version will be retained, both appropriately labeled.

Jenny Bond, Chair of the Nominations Committee, submitted the following report in absentia:

Candidates for Office-2015-2016

Chair: James Rainey

Secretary-Treasurer: John Forsyth

No one has agreed to be on the ballot for the Vice Chair position.

Candidates for Board Member -2015-2018

Joseph Chartkoff Alan Fisher Gary Stone

Stone moved and Adams seconded adopting the recommendations in the report. The motion passed by unanimous vote.

There being no further business, Chairperson Rainey adjourned the annual meeting at 1:24 pm.

MSU FACULTY EMERITI ASSOCIATION STEERING COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES Wednesday, May 13, 2015

## Room 102 Kellogg Center

Chairperson Rainey called the regular monthly meeting to order at 1:25 pm.

Members attending: Pauline Adams, Bill Cambray, John Forsyth, Joyce Grant, Bruce Miller, James Rainey, Gary Stone, and Jim Trosko. Not attending: Jenny Bond, Joseph Chartkoff, Alan Fisher, Rita Gallin, Charles Gliozzo, Mary Kennedy, David Rovner, and Albert Sparrow. Visitor: Cindi Leverich (MSU-FOD).

Minutes of the meeting of April 8, 2015 were approved unanimously.

FEA History Project – Joseph Chartkoff reported that he is working on the meetings that established the mission statement of the FEA. He estimated that the project might be nearly 90% completed.

Board of Trustees -- Pauline Adams reported that the April 2015 meeting of the Board of Trustees focused largely on graduating students.

University Council – Bruce Miller indicated that the last University Council had not met since April 8, 2015.

Health Care – Gary Stone indicated that the Faculty Health Care Committee is concentrating on a survey of 400 faculty to assess the prospects for use of an on-campus primary health care unit.

Faculty Senate – Stone reported that he missed the April 21, 2015 meeting but had documentation that 55 courses were added and 5 courses were dropped. Academic governance is reviewing the grievance policy.

Lecture Series – Trosko has prepared a report of the 2014-2015 presentations.

Oral History – Pauline Adams has one individual scheduled for an interview.

New Business – It was agreed that the Steering Committee should arrange a meeting with the provost to assess the degree with which the FEA is in concert with the university's goal in the provost's view.

Next Meeting: Wednesday, August 12, 2015.

The meeting adjourned at 2:28 pm.

Submitted by John Forsyth